Where Have I Been?


Bees In Hole

Of late, I have been a failure at blogging.  I do however, have a few good excuses.  It has been over a month since my last post.  July 29 was the last time I found time or energy to write.

For my regular readers you may recall my husband being out-of-town on business during honey harvest.  Well I am happy and melancholy at the same time to say that he is still out of town….on  business.  When the studio where he shot beautiful photography for 30 years closed it’s doors back in 2011, our lives took a drastic turn.  We no longer could rely on his steady income.  He is the “bring home the bacon” guy in our family!  Not to beg for your sympathy but it is has been a bit rough from time to time.  Oh, he picked up, got busy and continued to provide for our family but when a job in another state fell in his lap he had no choice but to say “yes” and so he’s in and out of our home in Texas.  Working here a bit and then there a bit.

I said all of that to say that my life has changed too.  I do still own this blog and love this blog.  But, and that is a big BUT, I have such a full plate; holding down the Texas fort, managing the fantastic gourmet kitchen store, taking care of our menagerie, and planning a wedding for our LuLu.  Not to mention trying to entertain a college girl home for the summer who found herself “home alone” more than she would’ve liked.

I know personally when I follow a blog and it goes stagnant for a time I become disinterested.  I do not want this to happen to The Orange Bee.  That is why I am posting today.  I am still here in heart and soul but simply cannot devote the time needed to write interesting or provocative or delicious posts for your entertainment.  I will be back with some new ideas and some big changes.  I trust that you will stick with me and check back from time to time.  I anticipate being up and running in full force sometime in November.

When 2014 rolls around my blog will celebrate its 4th anniversary.  There will be some interesting changes and ideas for you to plug into and I hope to see you around when the changes come.  You, my audience are what makes a blog….I appreciate each and every one of you who take the time to read religiously, stop by weekly, pop in occasionally or stumble upon me periodically.  I’ll be back before you know it and I look forward to hanging with you in the foodie blogosphere soon.

Meantime there are candles to order, cakes to pay for, flowers to smell, tuxedos to fit, earrings to buy, booze to purchase, DJ’s to listen to and so much more.  I won’t bore you with the details.  I will be attending engagement parties, bbq’s, bridal showers, bridal portrait sessions and somehow in the midst of all of this I will celebrate a “monumental” birthday. That my friends, will be a much-needed vacation!  After that the wedding will be on top of us.  It will be a beautiful affair and I am ready….well almost.

I’ll see you soon, and I’ll leave you with a few links to some of my favorite posts, recipes or bee stories.

Enjoy!
Gold Bars

Chili Cook-off Madness

Chocolate Cake 

Fresh Figs and Honey 

Orange Cheesecake

Chocolate Espresso Cheesecake

Honey-Jalapeno Glazed Salmon 

A Bee Story

Dinner With The Orange Bee

Cake & Champagne

 

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Where Have I Been?

  1. Best of luck with all that’s coming up…and Bee’s never fail to amaze me.If only we humans could work so hard with such concentration!

    • Hi there – I’ll be back up and running shortly with new news and hopefully inspired ideas! YES YES YES bees are amazing little creatures. I love them and yes humans should be so dedicated to life!

  2. Karen says:

    Just stopped by to say I was thinking about you. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas and that 2014 brings good things to all of you.

  3. spicegirlfla says:

    Hi Linda, I understand when life gets in the way! You have a lot to be thankful for and such wonderful times coming up for you! Busy, yes, but full of life and good things to come! Best wishes on the upcoming wedding!

  4. chef mimi says:

    wow. I’m sorry for the financial troubles. I bet that’s extra hard on your husband. But seriously, there’s nothing like a wedding to brighten life. Plan well, then relax and enjoy! It’s a wonderful time.

    • Oh – I didn’t mean to play on anyone’s sympathies….but better times are ahead and the wedding is a wonderful distraction! I’m so proud to be MOB and the big day will be glorious!

  5. Karen says:

    It sounds like you have a lot on your plate…good luck!

  6. I understand busy. The wedding planning alone would have my head spinning. Best wishes. It’s all worth it.

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!