I Don’t Like Pie


Miss T’s Lattice-Top Blackberry Pie

Or so says Miss T!  It’s a true statement, the kid won’t eat a slice of pie but she likes to make and bake pies.  When she was around eleven years old I signed her up for a pie making class at Central Market around the Christmas holidays.  It was for fun and to give me a few hours of time for shopping sans a nosy pre-teen.  Ever since then she fancies herself a pie maker.

Her favorite is apple but she has started to branch out and try other types of fruit pies as well.  Once she made a cherry pie for her Uncle Ray as he’s her favorite and cherry is his most-liked.  Most recently she popped into the kitchen, keys in hand, declared herself bored and headed to the store for pie making ingredients.  She returned home with the most beautiful fat, succulent blackberries we’ve seen all summer.

This was her first attempt at creating a lattice top pie. Here is her recipe using tapioca for a thickener, her first experience with this product.  She was pleased with how it held the berry mixture together.  We were both pleased with her final creation.  The plump, juicy berries made the most delicious pie.  I’m tickled pink she’s found a niche in the kitchen – even if she never eats a bite of pie!

Enjoy!

Miss T’s Lattice-Top Blackberry Pie

Ingredients:
1 ready-made refrigerator pie crust (we like Pillsbury)
5 cups fresh blackberries, washed and patted dry
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tbsp. quick cooking tapioca
1-2 tbsp. butter, cut into small pieces
brown sugar

Preheat oven to 450*.  Combine sugar, flour and tapioca.  Sprinkle the mixture over berries and stir gently until well blended.  Allow mixture to sit for about 15 minutes.  In the meantime roll out the bottom pie crust, place in pie pan.  Sprinkle some brown sugar over bottom crust and gently rub it into dough with fingertips.  Fill pie shell with berry mixture and dot with 1-2 tbsp. butter.

Prepare lattice top by slicing remaining crust into strips, using a pizza dough cutter.  Arrange lattice strips on top of pie and brush with a bit of melted butter.  Sprinkle top of pie with brown sugar.

Bake for 10 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350*and bake another 35-40 minutes or until filling is bubbly and crust is golden brown.  Cool completely on a rack before serving.

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Berries, Blackberries, Fruit, Pies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Don’t Like Pie

  1. Karen says:

    It is funny that Miss T enjoys baking something that she doesn’t like to eat but I guess it leaves more for others.

  2. Sondra says:

    There’s not much I like more that a big ol wedge of warm HOMEMADE pie. You can always tell if its handmade because the crust is irregular. My mom use to press the edges with a fork.
    So, since Miss T doesn’t like pie, may I have her slice?

  3. Well I LIKE pie, and your’s looks a treat, and how perfect to use summer fresh fruit!

  4. Ray says:

    Tara makes the best pie’s ever and her cherry pie, made special for me, made a great memory as well. I have to say her oversized apple pie is also exceptionally good and one of the things I look forward to when we gather at the holidays.
    I love pie nearly as much as I love Tara.

  5. Pingback: I Like Cobbler « From My Backyard

  6. bishop9396 says:

    Anything with Blackberries is good…. Don’t allow it to cool completely – need a little warmth to go along with a scoop of Blue Bell ice cream!!!!

  7. Kelley Butler says:

    I am so sorry Miss T doesn’t like pie. I like it better than cake and almost as much as a cookie. 🙂

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!