Weekend Brisket


weekend-brisket-sl-l

I admit this post may cause me to look a bit lazy.  I did not take these photos nor create the recipes.  I did borrow the photos and recipes from my March issue of Southern Living magazine.  Let me defend myself – I am not lazy, but once again dinner was served long after the sun had set, so getting a shot of the food, not happening!

Lisa Fain of Homesick Texan and I do have something in common.  We are both displaced Texans homesick for the food we grew up on and love.  Finding brisket in North Carolina, well that’s become a standing joke with the hubby and me.  North Carolina is a “pig” state, plain and simple.  If we want brisket I’m gonna have to make it.  I am okay with this!

This brisket hit the spot.  It’s quick to assemble and once it begins to cook in your oven the smell makes your mouth water all afternoon.  I marinated mine for several hours as opposed to the 1 hour called for in the recipe.  The meat came out tender, was easy to slice and disappeared quickly.  We were really craving some beef brisket.  It’s a Texas thing to be sure and I suppose we are still Texans at heart.

I’m also posting the Jalapeno-Cheddar Popover recipe that is shown in the magazine.  They were amazing and also disappeared from the table quickly.  The cheddar flavor stands out and the fresh jalapeños lend just the right amount of heat.  No honey in the popovers but you need to make them to accompany the brisket. They are pretty much to die for!  This was my first time to make popovers and we loved them so much they will become a staple in my kitchen!

Enjoy!

Weekend Brisket

Ingredients:
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons light molasses, honey, or sorghum
2 tablespoons yellow mustard
1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 (4- to 5-lb.) brisket flat, trimmed
1 yellow onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
6 garlic cloves, chopped
1 cup beef broth

Preparation

  1. 1. Stir together first 6 ingredients in a small bowl to form a paste. Rub on brisket, and let stand at room temperature 1 hour.
  2. 2. Preheat oven to 250°. Cook onion in hot oil in a large Dutch oven over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally, 5 minutes or until tender. Add 6 garlic cloves, and sauté 30 seconds. Remove from heat, and add beef broth, stirring to loosen browned bits from bottom of skillet. Place brisket in Dutch oven, fat side up. Spoon onion mixture over brisket.
  3. 3. Bake, covered, at 250° for 4 to 5 hours or until fork-tender. Let stand 30 minutes. Thinly slice brisket across the grain. 

jalapeno-cheddar-popovers-sl-l

Jalapeno-Cheddar Popovers

Ingredients:
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup milk, at room temperature $
3 tablespoons butter, melted
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 cup (1 oz.) shredded sharp Cheddar cheese $
1 tablespoon minced seeded jalapeño pepper (about 1 pepper)
Vegetable cooking spray

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 450°. Process first 5 ingredients in a blender 15 seconds or until smooth. Stir in cheese and jalapeño, and let stand 30 minutes. Lightly grease a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray; place in a jelly-roll pan, and heat in oven 2 minutes. Spoon batter into prepared muffin pan, filling halfway. Bake 15 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 375°, and bake 8 to 12 minutes or until puffed and golden brown.

Lisa Fain, HomesickTexan.com Southern Living

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!