Secretly Simple Croutons


My head is stuffy, so stuffy it’s exhausting to breathe.  No bueno!  I’m sure it will be gone soon…I’m medicating with antibiotics and stuff said to unstuff ones nose.  It all started when I awoke early Saturday with a scratchy throat and sniffles.  I managed to carry on for the day with Miss T and my man Dan as we traipsed around a college campus, trying to decide if it’s on or off “the list”.  One of the final undertakings of parenthood.  One that brings mixed emotions and the realization that all too soon my adoring hubby and I will be empty nesters.   One undertaking I was not willing to miss.

You know how when your nose gets so stuffy you can’t taste or smell?  Yep, that’s where I am.  This evening for dinner I’m having a bowl of (I hate to say it) minestrone soup from a local Italian restaurant where I sent the man and Miss T to fill their bellies tonight.  With no useful taste buds nor sense of smell I couldn’t even begin to prepare dinner.  The one redeeming thought of eating take out soup is that I can top it with these toasty croutons. Halleluia!

Luckily these homemade croutons can be kept in an airtight container for up to one month.  We’ve used them on soups, salads and for snacking.  I made them just under a month ago and they have remained delicious throughout.  I’ll never buy store-bought again as these were way to simple to prepare and store.  Now, I’m off for a bowl of steamy soup, another way to unclog a stuffy nose. Wish me luck with the un-stuffing part so that I’ll be back at the stove soon.

Enjoy!
Rosemary Croutons 

Ingredients:
1 loaf of sliced white sandwich bread cut into 3/4 inch pieces ( I used Texas toast sized bread)
1/2 cup olive oil
Kosher Salt
1/4 cup chopped fresh flat-leaf parsley
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary

Heat the oven to 350*.  Toss bread cubes with olive oil, parsley, salt and rosemary until bread is evenly coated.  Arrange in a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet.  Bake for 25-30 minutes tossing the bread and rotating the pans halfway through, until golden and crisp.  Let cool completely on pans.

Tip: The croutons can be kept at room temperature in an air-tight container for up to one month.

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Bread, Croutons, Herbs, Rosemary, Tips & Tidbits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Secretly Simple Croutons

  1. Lulu says:

    I could eat a whole batch of these by themselves!

  2. spicegirlfla says:

    I’m glad you are on the road to feeling so much better! Just in time to prepare Thanksgiving dinner! I love to make crutons with whatever bread I have on hand that is about to go stale! Even bagels! I passed along the Liebster Award to you…congrats!!

  3. delicious and simple flavours, just two of my favourite things 🙂 thanks for posting the recipe!

  4. Karen says:

    I hope you feel better soon. Rest up and keep eating soup with your tasty croutons. I agree… there is no reason to buy croutons when homemade taste better and don’t have all the chemicals. Oh, and how about the price for a little bag of not great croutons.

  5. So much better than store bought! Hope you feel better soon.

  6. rhonda Adams says:

    feel Better Linda! I never thought of making croutons…duh, sounds easy and delish!

    • Thanks to all who wished me to feel better…after a visit with the doctor, two shots, one of which took my mind off of my misery by turning all my attention to the stinging in my behind for about 45 minutes, an inhaler, some nasal spray and more antibiotics, plus heavy duty kick your ass cough meds for bedtime, I am feeling much better. Having a good nights sleep helped considerably. Yes, fresh made, no preservatives, fresh herbs from my yard and did I say these croutons make a crunch snack? Making more today to last throughout the Thanksgiving week. Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!