An Exciting Day


Banana-Blackberry Bread

My bees have arrived!  My excitement level has been high today.  I’m feeling a little more calm now that they are settled and I believe I will be able to tell you a little about the day.

This morning I was pretty anxious waiting for my bees to be delivered.  The weather was not cooperating as it was cloudy, cool and windy.  Bees like sunny, calm and warm.  I was worried we would need to abort the delivery.  I decided if I baked something it would take my mind off of worrying about the girls arrival.  I was not about to leave and run to the store so I did what I always do and snooped around in the pantry and frig.  I’d stuck some bananas in the refrigerator while we were out-of-town this past weekend and they were perfectly overripe, just what I needed to bake with.  Upon scanning a few recipes I found one for Banana-Raspberry Bread.  I did not have raspberries but I did still have blackberries in the freezer.  Perfecto!  You can use either and I’m sure it will be delish.  This recipe also packs some healthful benefits, fiber and antioxidants from the berries and potassium from the nanners.

I got busy baking bread and the next thing I knew I got the phone call I’d been eagerly awaiting.  The bread was out of the oven and cooled so the timing was just right.  I threw on my bee suit and waited…..

To hear more about today’s bee adventure go to the “Bees & Honey” page at the top of my blog.  You will find photos and learn more about the arrival of my beautiful bees.

Here is the recipe for the moist and tasty banana bread.  Adoring hubby declared it to be “pretty good stuff”.

Enjoy!

Banana-Blackberry Bread

Banana-Blackberry Bread in stone pan

 

 

Ingredients:
Vegetable oil cooking spray
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup of sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
4 large overripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup skim milk
1 large egg
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup fresh blackberries or raspberries

Preheat oven to 350*.  Coat a loaf pan with the cooking spray.  (I used my stone loaf pan)
In a large bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, soda and salt; whisk to blend.  make a well in the center of the mixture and set aside.  In another bowl mash the bananas and combine with milk, egg and vanilla; fold in the berries.  Pour the banana mixture into the center of the dry ingredients and fold together until combined.  Do not over mix.  (I always find no matter how gently you fold some berries crush and color the batter – not to worry)  Pour batter into pan; bake one hour or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in pan on a wire rack for about 10 minutes.  Remove from pan; cool completely before storing.

Milk is the perfect accompaniment to banana-blackberry bread

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Bananas, Berries, Blackberries, Bread, Fruit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Exciting Day

  1. Thank you – it is disappearing quickly!

  2. Lin Ann says:

    Your bread looks amazingly fresh, moist and healthy! I wish I could have some with my coffee right now

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!