Golden Orange & Chocolate Chip Waffles


“Orange” month is quickly coming to an end.  Charles, over at www.fiveeurofood.com/ Five Euro Food, who I might say posts some enticing photos and recipes, wrote a post about Swedish Waffles.  I commented on how pretty and tasty they looked.  He, later asked me about waffle recipes in America.  He, lucky guy, lives in France.  I retorted that I’d post about waffles as soon as “orange” month was over.  That wouldn’t do apparently, as he suggested I just add some orange zest and call them orange waffles.  This guy will make you laugh if you go over for a visit.

I rather liked his idea and enjoyed making waffles from scratch with added orange zest.  Turns out they were well received here in the Orange Bee kitchen and the very next day “Miss T” asked for chocolate chip waffles, also totally delicious.  I topped the chocolate chip waffles with some of the Orange-Apricot Butter from my earlier post to keep the “orange” theme going.

There are two separate waffle recipes here.  Both similar, both simple but the second leaves out the beaten egg white step; and changes a couple of ingredients.  Either way you choose to make them you will be pleased with the outcome. Both are fluffy, tender waffles with slightly crisp outsides.  If you have the basic ingredients on hand you’re in business – waffle business that is!

Adding in the orange zest gave a subtle hint of citrus flavor which paired well with my Fadden’s Maple Syrup, that was a gift from a fellow blogger in Rhode Island.  Linda, who is by nature an artist,  over at vittlesandcommittals.blogspot.com/, where you will read about very healthy food and see her lovely photos, sent me a big bottle of fresh maple syrup for my birthday.  I’m a tad stingy with it, but pulled it out and warmed it up for our breakfast, both days.  As I said earlier, on the following morning when I made “Miss T’s” favorite, chocolate chip waffles, I took out the Orange-Apricot Butter and the maple syrup.  I was drooling just looking at the photo as I posted it.  That was one fantastic combo.  Chocolate chips, oranges, apricots and maple syrup.  Go ahead…..drool.  You know, breakfast is good for dinner too!

Enjoy!

Orange and Chocolate Chip Waffles

Ingredients:
Waffle #1 (orange)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt
2 eggs, separated
3/4 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup butter, melted
zest of one orange

Combine flours, soda and salt; set aside.  Combine egg yolks, buttermilk, orange juice, zest and butter; stirring briskly until blended.
Beat egg white (at room temperature) until stiff peaks form; carefully fold into batter.
Bake in preheated, greased waffle iron.

Waffle#2 (chocolate chip)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp salt
2 tablespoons sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 cups milk
2 eggs
4 tbsp. butter, melted 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
a handful of chocolate chips

Combine dry ingredients into a large bowl.  In another bowl whisk together the milk and eggs.  Stir in butter and vanilla.  Add to dry mixture, mixing just until moist.  Bake in preheated, greased waffle iron.  After pouring batter onto waffle iron sprinkle chips over surface, close lid and bake.

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Chocolate, Orange, Waffles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Golden Orange & Chocolate Chip Waffles

  1. Sandy says:

    I can’t wait to try this! Love orange and chocolate together!

  2. Well, I’m thinking it would be mighty easy to toss some chocolate chips — or, better, small chocolate shavings into your orange waffles and have the best of both ingredients in one waffle. I recently made some sourdough orange waffles, but decided they weren’t worth blogging about.

    • Sharyn – Excellent thinking! Sorry to hear about your sourdough waffles – that stinks when we don’t feel our efforts are blog worthy!

      • My waffles were fine for eating, but I had to make many adjustments and couldn’t see anyone else making them. It started when I ran out of unbleached and all-purpose flour and had to substitute a combination of cake flour and whole wheat flour to get breakfast on the table. And not everyone keeps sourdough starter. Your recipe is much more normal and certainly delicious.

      • This recipe was very easy both ways I made it – whipped egg whites or not. Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  3. Pingback: I Heart You, Lemon Waffles « Savoring Every Bite

  4. One word – WOW! I’ve never made waffles before, and these look soooooo tempting.

  5. Charles says:

    Ahhh, thanks for posting these – they look fabulous, and I didn’t actually think you’d make them with zest inside… I’m glad you thought the idea was a good one; even more glad they tasted good! I’m thinking chocolate chips and orange zest for my next waffle experiments would be just fantastic! Beautiful waffles – will have to try your recipe soon too! I’m interested as to how different they are!

  6. spicegirlfla says:

    This is great! I made some lemon waffles coming up soon!! Loving all the citrus and stopping by for all your orange love!!

  7. suzysomething says:

    I use my George Foreman grill. It came with two sets of grill inserts and one of them works great on waffles as well as stuff like grilled cheese sandwiches.

  8. Ha, way to be pushy Charles. A big thanks from the rest of us. These look great. Alas, no waffle iron, but I can dream…

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!