Spicy Honey Cider Syrup


homeremedy1

I wish I was not writing about this recipe today.  I’d rather write about a dessert to make you drool, a gorgeous green salad, fresh-baked bread hot out of the oven or make your mouth water with a beautiful standing rib roast all garlicky and peppery .  Instead I’m sharing a home remedy for a stuffy nose and scratchy throat. My guess is, many of you are privy to this home remedy as I’m certain it’s been bouncing around the blogosphere for a while now.  Today and for the past few days I’ve been faithfully taking dose after dose to fight off said stuffy nose and scratchy throat.  Ugh!  The good news is; it does help.  This mixture contains ingredients I think most of you have on hand.  Apple cider vinegar, honey, powdered ginger, cayenne pepper and water.  I find the taste of the spicy pepper, sweet honey and tart vinegar quite appealing.

Long used in traditional Chinese medicine to treat the common cold, ginger is a preferred home remedy for stuffy noses and sore throats. Containing anti-inflammatory properties that help to reduce the discomfort of a sore throat and swollen nasal passages.  Adding a bit of cayenne, rich in capsaicin so a natural expectorant, can go a long way towards easing unpleasant and uncomfortable nasal congestion.  When ingested this healing compound immediately starts breaking up congestion in the throat and nasal passages helping to  flush out potential infection-causing irritants.  Apple cider vinegar loosens mucus and helps turn the body alkaline when it is acidic, beneficial to expedite healing.  Now, lets talk about the honey.  Honey with all its components including royal jelly, propolis and bee pollen is high in nutrients, antioxidants and enzymes which knock out bacteria and viruses.

If you’re experiencing this stuffy nose, scratchy throat stuff let me suggest you get plenty of rest, drink fluids, wash your hands frequently and swallow a few tablespoons of this syrup daily.  It seems to ease the scratch in the back of my throat, does lighten that congested feeling and all in all it just seems better than traditional OTC cough/congestion remedies.  Please do not use this in place of seeing your doctor if you are running fever or have green or yellow mucus which could be a sign of infection that has already taken hold.

I hope to post an “In My Kitchen” story soon as well as one about the rum cake I’ll be baking later in the week for my daughter LuLu’s upcoming birthday celebration.  Stay healthy.

Enjoy!
homeremedy2Spicy Honey Cider Syrup

¼ teaspoon Cayenne
¼ teaspoon Ginger
1 Tablespoon Cider Vinegar
2 Tablespoon Hot Water
1 Tablespoon Honey (use a locally produced raw honey, if possible.)

Dissolve cayenne and ginger in cider vinegar and hot water. Add honey and shake well. Take 1 Tablespoon as needed for cough.
Shake well before using.
I like to use hot water as it helps the honey dissolve into the mixture.  Allow to cool before dosing.
Remember: Honey should not be given to children under the age of one year.

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Honey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Spicy Honey Cider Syrup

  1. Pingback: Honey, Ginger & Garlic Roasted Chicken | The Orange Bee

  2. This is really a lovely thing to bookmark, because one day we’re all going to need it! Hope you feel all well now.

  3. I always keep a bottle of ginger syrup in the fridge. It’s stunning mixed with soy sauce as a marinade but also is great with a squeeze of lemon, honey and hot water. Have you tried making lozenges with your honey?

  4. Me too – the last thing our family needs is a cold!

  5. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve got a scratchy throat.. I’m glad you posted this recipe, my daughter’s had a nagging cough. I hope you get over this soon! xx

    • Barbara, thank you – I am feeling better this morning! If your daughter will drink this stuff I think she will get over her nagging cough! I really like the taste and the way it makes me feel. Hope she’s better soon and thanks for your nice wishes.

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!

