Maple-Pecan Sticky Buns


pans1

I mentioned in my last post that I was in the mood for some bread baking.  I’d spied this recipe for low-cal Maple-Pecan Sticky Buns in this month’s issue of Southern Living.  Feeling a bit adventurous I tackled this recipe before church on Sunday morning.I’ve never made sticky buns before but decided to give it a shot.  I chugged a couple of cups of hot, steamy coffee, pushed up the sleeves on my robe and began the process.  To my surprise making sticky buns is simple if a bit time-consuming.

There are a few things about this recipe I want to call to your attention.  It makes two pans one for eating and one for sharing, if you will.  I thought I would be sharing the second pan until we ate the first bun hot out of the oven.  I quickly changed my mind!  Using a “hot roll” mix cuts down on ingredients needed and you only have to let the rolls rise one time.  The biggest plus besides the taste of these little buns is that they are under 300 calories.  A delicious indulgence without any guilt.

I’m hooked on these sweet, sticky little guys.  The buns are tender, buttery and full of cinnamon and maple flavor. There are just enough toasted, crunchy pecans sprinkled on top to deliver a nutty taste too.

I hope you’ll try these little goodies.  They will not disappoint and with a low-calorie count they won’t sabotage your new years resolution of loosing a few pounds!

Enjoy!
closeupbunMaple-Pecan Sticky Buns

Ingredients:

  • Sticky Bun Syrup
  • 1 (16-oz.) package hot roll mix
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Maple Glaze
  • 1/2 cup chopped toasted pecans
  • Preparation
  1.  Lightly grease 2 (8-inch) round or square cake pans or skillets. Spoon Sticky Bun   Syrup into pans.
  2.  Prepare hot roll dough as directed on back of package; let dough stand 5 minutes.
  3.  Roll dough into an 18- x 10-inch rectangle. Spread with melted butter. Stir together brown sugar and cinnamon; sprinkle over butter.
  4.  Roll dough up tightly, starting at 1 long end; cut into 16 slices using a serrated knife. Place 1 slice in center of each prepared pan. Place 7 slices around center roll in each pan.
  5.  Cover pans loosely with plastic wrap; let rise in a warm place (85°), free from drafts, 30 to 45 minutes or until doubled in bulk.
  6.  Preheat oven to 350°. Uncover rolls, and bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown and done. Cool in pans on a wire rack 5 minutes. Prepare Maple Glaze, and brush over rolls. Top with toasted pecans.

Sticky Bun Syrup

Ingredients:

2/3 cup powdered sugar
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 egg white

Preparation

  1. Whisk together powdered sugar, melted butter, maple syrup, and egg white until smooth.

Maple-Glaze

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 tablespoons milk

Preparation

  1. Melt butter in a small, heavy saucepan over medium heat. Whisk in brown sugar, maple syrup, and a pinch of salt until blended. Whisk in milk; bring mixture to a boil, whisking constantly. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer, whisking constantly, 3 to 4 minutes or until glaze is golden brown and glossy. Use immediately.

Southern Living 
JANUARY 2013

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Maple- Pecan Sticky Buns, Maple-Pecan Sticky Buns, Nuts, Pecans and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Maple-Pecan Sticky Buns

  1. Karen says:

    Your kitchen must have smelled wonderful while these were baking in the oven.

  2. sallybr says:

    They look amazing indeed! I’ve never made sticky buns, but with only the two of us in the house, I guess it’s a bit tricky for me to bake this type of stuff. But, on the other hand, if I take a pan with these babies to our lab, the grad students will be extremely grateful.. 😉

  3. Yum! could you just fed express a couple over to me?

  4. Kristy says:

    These look soooooooo good. You really can’t go wrong with this flavor combo. I’m going to have to make these very soon because I have a feeling I won’t be able to get them out of my head. 🙂

  5. What a nice twist on the traditional recipe. You can’t beat maple and pecan.

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!

