Central Market – Here I Come


In just a few days I will be conducting my very first Central Market Cooking School class. I am ready to do this!  Here is the link - http://www.centralmarket.com/Stores/Fort-Worth.aspx.  If you’re close by and would like to sign up click on the cooking school icon, I believe there are a few seats available.

 My class is called “Dinner With the Orange Bee”.  Can you guess what the key ingredient will be?  Come on now…this is a simple question.  If you guessed honey you are correctamundo!

I will be talking about bees, honey and the importance of bees to our society.  You do know that 70% of the produce we eat is pollinated by bees.  I will be featuring 5 recipes from appetizer, to salad, to entree, followed by two desserts.  I am going to share the appetizer recipe with you today.  If you have seen this delicious starter on my blog in the past, with summer upon us you’ll want to review it.  In the following days I will blog about the rest of the recipes featured in the class.  Don’t miss it!

Enjoy!
 Baked Fig Crostini

Preheat oven to 350*.  Stir together 4 oz. chopped, cooked bacon or country ham; 4 oz. goat cheese, crumbled & softened; 1 Tbsp. finely chopped toasted pecans; and 1 tsp. chopped fresh thyme.  cut 12 fresh figs in half.  Press the back of a small soon or your thumb into the centers of the fig halves, making a small indentation.  Spoon the cheese mixture into the indentations.  Baking on a baking sheet for 7 minutes.  Drizzle with 1 Tbsp. honey.  Serve immediately with toasted baguette slices.
( I placed the baguette slices in the oven with the figs and they were all ready at the same time.)

About The Orange Bee

Food Blogger - Bee Keeper - Mom - Wife - Lover of Life
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Bee Keeping, Cheese, Figs, Goat Cheese and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Central Market – Here I Come

  1. Ryan says:

    Congrats on your cooking class at the CM! That is just so cool and your menu looks amazing! I pinned this fig crostini to try soon. It looks absolutely delish!

  2. Kim says:

    I can’t wait to meet you and try your yummy sounding recipes. I will be part of the volunteer help for your class.

  3. I’m stumped! Boy does this one look awesome. You sure have a way with figs. Oh is that the subject of the class or is it tequila?

  4. Lulu says:

    YUM! will need to try this soon. A cheese disguise helps progress ducky’s palate : ) good luck in class mom. -lulu

  5. Sondra says:

    I can’t wait!! I’ll be there, along with hubba hubba hubby!

Make my day - leave me your thoughts!

